Mariah Carey – Rainbow (1999, Gatefold, 2xVinyl LP)

Mariah Carey – Rainbow 2xLP

Sleeve Condition: Very Good Plus | Media Condition: Very Good Plus. Includes digital iTunes files with purchase.


Mariah Carey claims Rainbow, her first album since divorcing Tommy Mottola, “chronicles my emotional roller coaster ride of the past year,” but less subjective listeners could be forgiven for viewing it as simply another Mariah Carey album. After all, all the elements are in place — the crossover dance hits, the ballads, the cameos, the hip producers, the weird cover choice from the early ’80s. But dig a little deeper, and her words ring true. Rainbow is the first Carey album where she’s written personal lyrics, and allusions to her separation from Mottola are evident throughout the album, even if it doesn’t really amount to the “story” she mentions in the liner notes. As appropriate for any introspective album, it’s a bit ballad-heavy, which makes Rainbow seem a little samey. Yet that’s not the only reason the record has a weird sense of déjà vu, since this follows the same formula as its two predecessors, distinguished primarily by her newfound fondness for flashing flesh. That repetition isn’t necessarily a problem, since she does formula very well, managing to appeal to both housewives as well as b-boys. Rainbow proves that she can still pull off that difficult balancing act, but it’s hard not to be a little disappointed that she’d didn’t shake the music up a little bit more — after all, it would have been a more effective album if the heartbreak, sorrow, and joy that bubbles underneath the music were brought to the surface.


  1. Heartbreaker (feat. Jay-Z)
  2. Can’t Take That Away (Mariah’s Theme)
  3. Bliss


  1. How Much (feat. Usher)
  2. After Tonight
  3. X-Girlfriend


  1. Heartbreaker (Remix) [feat. Da Brat & Missy Elliott]
  2. Vulnerability (Interlude)
  3. Against All Odds (Take A Look At Me Now)
  4. Crybaby (feat. Snoop Dogg)


  1. Did I Do That? (feat. Mystikal)
  2. Petals
  3. Rainbow (Interlude)
  4. Thank God I Found You (feat. Joe & 98º)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s